Takemitsu Voice-Solo Flute-Salabert


Share this Product


Takemitsu Voice-Solo Flute-Salabert

Takemitsu Voice-Solo Flute-Salabert

Advanced level

Written in 1971 in Tokyo and dedicated to Aurèle Nicolet, “Voice for Solo Flautist” was inspired by an excerpt from Shuzo Takiguchi’s “Handmade Proverbs”: “Qui va la? Qui que tu sois, parle, transparence! … Who goes there? Speak, transparence, whoever you are!”.

A array of techniques are used in this solo work including percussive key tapping, tongue clicks, notes played at the same time the flautist sings, shouts, speaks or hums into the flute, quarter, overtones, multiphonics, chords (via specified split note fingering), trills, flutter tonguing, and tremolos amongst others. The words of the brief poem are entwined throughout the piece in both French and English.

Japanese composer, Toru Takemitsu (1930 – February 20, 1996) composed several hundred compositions, scored over ninety films and published twenty books on subjects including aesthetics and music theory. He was well known for fusing elements of Oriental and Western philosophy as well as combining opposites together such as ‘sound v silence’ and ‘tradition v innovation’.

If you have any queries, please call All Flutes Plus on 020 7388 8438 (UK) or +44
20 7388 8438 (International)

Product Delivery

  • All Flutes Plus accessories are dispatched within the UK by Royal Mail unless otherwise requested with a standard flat-rate of £2.50 per package.
  • All Flutes Plus endeavour to dispatch your order by return and availability of stock if received before 2.30pm.
  • For delivery outside the UK a secure courier service is used for overseas shipment. Not only will the delivery charge change depending on the location, but also the weight of  the goods.

Terms and Conditions

Additional information

Weight 0.0000 kg
SKU: SLB99447400. Categories: ,
Finance for your Flute
Price Promise
AFP Support Plan
Specifications Explained
Looking for Something? Speak to our Specialist Team
Give us a call :+44 (0)20 7388 8438 or email: afp@allflutesplus.com