Mozart Viennese Sonatinas for Flute and Piano


Share this Product


Mozart Viennese Sonatinas for Flute and Piano

Mozart Viennese Sonatinas for Flute and Piano

Publisher-Universal Edition
Magic Flute on Stage
Arranged by Müller-Doppler Ulrich; Ludwig Peter
Suitable for intermediate players


These beautifully crafted adaptations of the “Viennese Sonatinas” for flute and piano are ideal for those who are new to the classical repertoire, offering a delightful introduction. Originally composed as Wind Divertimenti (KV439b) by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, these pieces were later transformed into Viennese Sonatinas for piano.

The arrangements for flute and piano now present flautists with a valuable collection of music from that era. Notably, the scores incorporate intricate phrasing and dynamics, serving as helpful guides to enhance and motivate the performers.


  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus: Sonatina I: Allegro Brillante, Menuetto, Trio, Allegro
  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus: Sonatina II: Menuetto, Trio, Adagio
  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus: Sonatina III: Menuetto, Trio, Rondo
  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus: Sonatina IV: Andante grazioso, Menuetto, Trio, rondo
  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus: Sonatina V: Adagio, Polonaise
  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus: Sonatina VI: Adagio

Works for Flute by W. A. Mozart

In spite of the reputed disfavour Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) held towards the flute, he created remarkable and enduring music for this instrument that he openly expressed his dislike for. Among his notable compositions for the flute are two concertos, a double concerto featuring the harp, Andante in C, and four beautiful flute and string quartets.

These works were commissioned by Ferdinand Dejean, a Dutch physician and amateur musician, during Mozart’s visit to Mannheim in 1777/78. Mozart composed an alternative version, the ‘Andante’ KV 315 (285e), for the middle movement of the Concerto in G major KV 313, as it was deemed too challenging either in terms of playing technique or musical complexity for the client. Despite his reservations, Mozart’s flute compositions continue to captivate audiences with their timeless beauty and artistry.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Mozart was born in Salzburg in 1756 and was a hugely influential composer of the Classical era. He began composing music at the aged of 5 and was a child prodigy. He was also extremely competent on the keyboard and violin.  Mozart composed over 600 works including symphonies, chamber works, operas, and keyboard works amongst a huge array of other works.

Mozart composed works for flute including a concerto for flute and harp, concerti in G Major and D Major, Andante in C and flute & string quartets.

If you have any queries, please call us on 020 7388 8438 (UK) or +44 (0)20 7388 8438 (International)

Product Delivery

  • We dispatch all sheet music within the UK via Royal Mail unless otherwise requested.
  • We will endeavour to dispatch your order by return and availability of stock if received before 2.30 pm
  • Stocked items may not always be immediately available. Click here to find out more.
  • We use a secure courier service for overseas deliveries outside of the United Kingdom. Delivery charges will vary depending on the location and weight of the goods.

Terms and Conditions

Finance for your Flute
Price Promise
AFP Support Plan
Specifications Explained
Looking for Something? Speak to our Specialist Team
Give us a call :+44 (0)20 7388 8438 or email: