Marais Suite in C Major-Two Flutes and Basso Continuo-Schott


Hoffmesiter also wrote more than 25 concertos for flute as well as chamber works with the flute in a leading role.

Share this Product


Marais Suite in C Major-Two Flutes and Basso Continuo-Schott

Marais Suite in C Major-Two Flutes and Basso Continuo-Schott

For 2 Treble Recorders (Flutes, Oboes or Violins) and Basso Continuo. Composed by Marin Marais (1656-1728). Original music for recorder.

Marin Marais (1656 – 1728), solo gamba player in the “Royal Chamber Orchestra” and director of the opera orchestra at the court of Louis XIV, was highly successful as a composer mainly through his operas and his chamber music. The second of his five books of instruction for one or two gambas and b.c., “Second Livre de pièces de Viole”, containing this variation piece “Les Folies d’Espagne”, appeared in 1701. Marais studied composition with Lully, but developed richer harmonics than his teacher. In addition to this, both the solo part and the basso continuo in his folia variations are exceptionally lively and the piece is characterized by a wide tonal range and some wide and occassionally bizarre leaps.

If you have any queries, please call All Flutes Plus on 020 7388 8438 (UK) or +44
20 7388 8438 (International)

Product Delivery

  • All Flutes Plus accessories are dispatched within the UK by Royal Mail unless otherwise requested.
  • All Flutes Plus endeavour to dispatch your order by return and availability of stock if received before 2.30pm.
  • Stocked items may not always be immediately available. Click here to find out more.
  • For delivery outside the UK a secure courier service is used for overseas shipment. Not only will the delivery charge change depending on the location, but also the weight of  the goods

Terms and Conditions

Finance for your Flute
Price Promise
AFP Support Plan
Specifications Explained
Looking for Something? Speak to our Specialist Team
Give us a call :+44 (0)20 7388 8438 or email: