JS Bach Flute Sonatas-Urtext Edition-Henle


Share this Product


JS Bach Flute Sonatas-Urtext Edition-Henle

JS Bach Flute Sonatas-Urtext Edition-Henle

Two Volumes Available

  • Volume 1 (Flute Sonatas I The Four Authentic Sonatas)
  • Volume 2 (Flute Sonata II The Three Sonatas attributed to J.S Bach)

Volume I Description and contents
The four Bach flute sonatas presented in this volume offer a genuine variety both in style and transmission. The first two are thoroughbass sonatas conceived for flute, string bass and harpsichord. Their time of origin is uncertain and might even date back to Bach’s Köthen period. In the transmitted version with obbligato harpsichord, the sonatas in b minor and A major BWV 1030 and 1032 are most probably arrrangements of earlier, no longer surviving works. The compositional interweaving of the sonatas for flute and harpsichord reaches its apogee in the contemplative b minor sonata, which is a masterpiece of the flute repertoire. By contrast, the A major sonata is captivating for its brilliant joyfulness and radiant colour.

JS Bach Flute Sonatas Volume 1-Urtext Edition-Henle (The Four Authentic Sonatas with cello part / Editor-Hans Eppstein / Henle Verlag Publishers)

  • Flute Sonata e minor BWV 1034
  • Flute Sonata E major BWV 1035
  • Flute Sonata b minor BWV 1030
  • Flute Sonata A major BWV 1032

Volume II Description
It is now possible to add the epithet “previously“ to the formulation of these sonatas as “attributed to Bach” in the title of our Urtext edition; today it is assumed that none of the three sonatas was written by “Father” Bach, but rather by his son Carl Philipp Emanuel. Yet this, too, cannot be completely and unambiguously authenticated; doubts linger. In any case, the issue does not detract from the extraordinary popularity of, for example, the Sonatas in E flat major and g minor, which have stunningly beautiful slow movements. The sonatas are part of the flautist’s daily bread.

  • Flute Sonata C major BWV 1033
  • Flute Sonata g minor BWV 1020
  • Flute Sonata E flat major BWV 1031

Johann Sebastian Bach was a German composer and musician of the Baroque period. He enriched the German music style through his skills in motif production and organisation of counterpoint and also harmony. Bach’s adaptation of rhythms, forms, and textures took influence from abroad, particularly Italy and France.

International music publisher of classical sheet music. Finest Urtext editions. Munich, Germany.

G. Henle Publishers stands for Urtext sheet music of the highest quality. Musicians around the world, both amateurs and professionals, can fully rely on their sheet music of what is called “classical music”. Their Urtext editions not only provide undistorted and authoritative musical text but are also aesthetically pleasing, optimised for practical use and extremely durable.

Henle Verlag concentrates almost exclusively on the scholarly preparation of Urtext editions of music from the Baroque onwards. This is why, as the world’s undisputed market leader, they have the greatest knowledge about Urtext and the most comprehensive Urtext catalogue, comprising over 1,250 titles to date.

If you have any queries, please call us on 020 7388 8438 (UK) or +44 20 7388 8438 (International)

Product Delivery

  • We dispatch all sheet music within the UK via Royal Mail unless otherwise requested.
  • We will endeavour to dispatch your order by return and availability of stock if received before 2.30pm
  • Stocked items may not always be immediately available. Click here to find out more.
  • We use a secure courier service for overseas deliveries outside of the United Kingdom. Delivery charges will vary depending on the location and weight of the goods.

Terms and Conditions

Additional information


1, 2

Finance for your Flute
Price Promise
AFP Support Plan
Specifications Explained
Looking for Something? Speak to our Specialist Team
Give us a call :+44 (0)20 7388 8438 or email: afp@allflutesplus.com